top of page

2021 Lockdown Collecting #5 - May, it's not every month, or year, this happens...

As we collectors know, finding those matchworn shirts from the 1980s, or earlier, is really hard, and more often than not you need a stroke of luck. I had a stroke of luck in February when I was the delighted recipient of a Brighton away shirt from 1985/1986, a shirt that was never sold to the public, and made in extremely limited numbers. Well, I had another piece of luck in May when a 1986/1987 Brighton away shirt came into my possession.

The 1986/1987 away shirt is the same shirt style as the 1985/1986 shirt, but with a different sponsor, NOBO, the NOtice BOard manufacturers.

As with the previous seasons shirt, this was never made available to the public as a replica shirt, so the only ones you'll find are ex matchworn versions.

So where do you find such a rarity? Well, in this case I was contacted by a guy in Colombia, who had one that was part of his adidas trefoil collection, that he was happy to sell on. Who knows how it ended up in South America, but the wonders of DHL ensured it was soon back in Sussex.


Here goes then with the haul for May, first up, Pune City from the Indian Super League, this is their 2018-2019 home shirt.


Next came the 2020-2021 third shirt of US Mid-Atlantic Conference league side Motorik FC Alexandria, and believe it or not, my first ever shirt with a sash!


And last but not least, this is the 2020-2021 away shirt of Scotland's newest league side, Kelty Hearts who were promoted via the playoffs for their first ever season in the Scottish Football League.


All in all May was pretty quiet, and it needed to be, my football shirt room is getting rather full up at the moment so perhaps it's time to cut back.


And not a single Brighton goalies shirt to be seen in May! Don't worry though, I'm certain there will be one in June, probably.


To see many more football shirts from my collection please take a look at my other blog posts here and to see even more shirts from all over the world please take a look at my website www.oldfootballshirt.com.

bottom of page