top of page

Brighton and Hove Albion 2022 Collecting - Update

My last post was in August 2021, when lockdown was effectively over in the UK. A lot has happened since then, here's an update on the Brighton and Hove Albion shirts I've added to my collection since then.


First up, a bit of a novelty really, I got my hands on an Errea template shirt similar to those Brighton used between 1999-2002, so I had a bit of fun with it, what could have been?

My own imaginings of what a third shirt might have looked like.


Of course there are some Brighton goalies shirts, I picked up a couple of matchworn ones back in September 2021.

Ben Roberts 2004-2005 match shirt.


Tomaz Kuszczak's 2013-2014 match shirt.


And one I found in January 2022, this one was worn by the reserve team in 2006-2007.


And a handful of other Brighton match shirts;

Nathan Jones' 2003-2005 matchworn away shirt.


This was a huge find, made by Admiral and used only once in anger in August 1994.

Worn in one away game, a 1-1 draw against Swansea City, the #4 was worn by Ian Chapman


Adam El-Abd's away match shirt from the FA Cup 3rd round at West Ham in January 2007, note the commemorative embroidery and it still has the dirt on it!

Alex 'Revellinho' Revell's match shirt from the 2006-2008 seasons.


The Fans at Brighton donated to a fund in 1998 which resulted in the club being able to buy Rod Thomas from Chester for £25,000.

This is his away shirt from the 1999-2000 season, Rod retired from the game in 2001 after playing 48 times for the Seagulls.


In 2008 Fatboy Slim called time on his record label, Skint, sponsoring the clubs shirts.

For the last game of the 2007-2008 season the team wore a special one-off kit commemorating the relationship between the club and SKINT records.

This is the shirt worn by Joel Lynch in the game.


And to bring it up to date, this is the 2021-2022 Brighton home shirt, by far the best effort from Nike so far in my opinion.

And this particular one was worn by Adam Lallana in the 2-1 victory over Leicester in September 2021.


Finally, not strictly a Brighton shirt but Davy Pröpper is a stylish midfielder, he played 107 times for the Albion, but he started his career at Vitesse where he played 142 times.

This is one of his match shirts from the 2014-2015 season at Vitesse.


To see many more football shirts from my collection please take a look at my other blog posts here and to see even more shirts from all over the world please take a look at my website www.oldfootballshirt.com.

bottom of page