top of page

Lockdown Collecting #13 - October Update

Here are the shirts I added to my collection during October 2020 during the COVID19 crisis.

I got my hands on a little batch of Brighton & Hove Albion "Premier League 2" home matchworn shirts from the 2018-2019 season. The PL2 is a bit like the old Development League, they don't have a reserve team league any more.

And also a batch of away PL2 matchworn shirts from the 2017-2018 season;

And then, just a few PL2 matchworn away shirts from the 2018-2020 season, and this is just a few of them!

Needless to say a few of my Albion supporting friends have had a socially distanced gift delivered to them in the past few weeks.


Of course, there was also a BHA goalies shirt, the 2019-2020 away 'keepers kit. This one wasn't ever for sale to fans as far as I know, so a bit of a nice addition to my collection.

I collected a couple of Australian midfielder Aaron Mooy's match shirts during October, this is the one he wore in the last game of the 2019-202 season, against Burnley at Turf Moor (W 1-2), when Brighton debuted the new kit for the 2020-2021 season. It has the NHS Heart logo in gratitude to the key workers who had worked so hard during the COVID pandemic, and also features the "Black Lives Matter" emblem on the right sleeve.

And this is his away shirt used in the 2019-2020 season.


The next addition was Leandro Trossards shirt from the Caribo Cup match against Manchester United on 30-09-20, not a vintage game, Brighton lost 0-3. You'll note the shirt has the Caribo Cup sleeve patches instead of the normal EPL patches.

I seem to have accidently become a bit of an Albion Rovers shirt collector as I came across this match ready blood shirt from the 2019-2020 season, Scottish League 2 patches on the sleeves.


And then a really rather smart 2012 Fort Lauderdale Strikers home shirt made by Joma, complete with NASL patch on the sleeve.


I added a second Bruised Banana shirt to my collection, and still it's not an Arsenal shirt. This is the 2020-2021 away shirt of Welsh non league side Nefyn United (Clwb Pel-Droed Nefyn Unedig), this has the NHS logo emblazoned across the front in recognition of the work our amazing health service has done during the COVID pandemic. The manufacturer, Teejac, has been making some really decent kits recently, I'll leave you to decide whether this is one!

I also got my hands on a Teejac replica 2020-2021 Home shirt of Nefyn United, as well as an older Nike 2011-2017 matchworn Nefyn home shirt.


An absolute beauty of a shirt was launched by Nike this month, now that's not something you hear often. But no, it's not Barca, Chelsea or Roma, it's FC Andorra who play in the Spanish lower leagues, what about that then?

I then picked up a bit of a novelty here, they are a real team, playing in the Finland lower leagues, this is the 2010 home shirt of FC Santa Claus, it really is!


We had a short break in October and a trip to Englands South Island, the Isle of Wight. While there I made sure we took in a game, Newport IOW v Bashley, in the Wessex League Cup, we watched a thoroughly enjoyable game, with The Port leading the game only to concede twice in the last 5 minutes to lose 2-3. Naturally I enquired about a shirt, they don't sell replicas, but the club secretary was happy to sell me a spare shirt they'd had prepared for the team :-)


I sponsor the shirt of a player at one of my local non league sides, Steyning Town, and have also managed to buy 2019-2020 home and away shirts from their kit suppliers for my collection.

Phew, well that's it for October, I told you it was a bit special, November isn't looking too shabby either. I hope you enjoy these, and if you want to see more classic and vintage football shirts take a look at my website www.oldfootballshirts.com


bottom of page