top of page

Lockdown Collecting #5

Some shirts I picked up during the COVID19 lockdown period.


The very first place I ever visited in Scotland was Stranraer, a family caravan holiday in around 1973 maybe? Dads blue Ford Cortina (reg NLE160E) towed a little metal box on wheels all the way to Dumfries and Galloway, I don't remember much about the trip, but I always remembered I had been to Stranraer. This is the 2019-2020 third shirt of the Blues, I bought it at the end of the cancelled 19/20 season, and I'm really chuffed with it.


The shirt is a Joma Crew III template which has a neat double V-Neck in grey, yellow and black. The bright yellow shoulder caps should ensure players aren't going to get lost on the pitch a-la previous teams efforts with grey shirts.

A really neatly embroidered club badge and prominent heat pressed sponsor logo gives the shirt its Stranraer identity, StenaLine being a huge part of the local areas economy.


The back of the shirt displays a couple more sponsors, businesses who I assume are keen supporters of their local team.

The Blues have played much of their history in the second and third tiers of Scottish football. In 1994 they won their first ever league title, winning the Scottish Second Division and achieving promotion to the First Division under the guidance of legendary manager Alex ‘Sanny’ McAnespie.

This is the shirt they for that famous promotion season, made by New Olympic, and very much a design typical of the early 1990s!



Stranraer were formed in 1870 and play at the Stair Park Stadium, which is a public park with a bandstand, tennis courts and a skatepark, and of course a 4178 capacity football stadium.

To see more Stranraer shirts that have been posted on my website click here.

bottom of page