top of page

Lockdown Collecting #6

Some shirts I picked up during the COVID19 lockdown period.


I've always enjoyed shirts from lesser known teams, anyone can buy Man Utd & Real Madrid shirts etc, but if you make a little more effort you can find some hidden gems, some shirts you wouldn't normally see.

This is the 2019-202 away shirt of Scottish League 2 side Albion Rovers, I chose the away shirt as I preferred the colours, and I think it has a distinct Roy of the Rovers look about it.

The shirt follows the Joma Champion IV template with contrast colours collar and underarm. A local business makes up the sponsors on the front and back which just adds to the appeal of this shirt to me.

In addition on the back a worthy mention for North Lanarkshire Suicide Prevention



This is the 1998-2000 away shirt, during this time the club went full time professional in an attempt to climb the Scottish football pyramid, sadly it wasn't to be and in 2003 they returned to part time status.


The Wee Rovers have played at the 1572 capacity Cliftonhill Stadium since 1919, despite the diminutive current capacity, back in 1936 more than 27,000 fans crammed into the ground to watch the side play Rangers in the Scottish Cup.




To see more Albion Rovers shirts that have been posted on my website click here.

bottom of page