top of page

My favourite Brighton shirt

I'm often asked which of my 300 or so Brighton shirts is my favourite, and it's a tough question with so many to choose from, but there is one outstanding design that I have settled on. The 2002-2004 shirt, made by Errea and unique to Brighton.



There are a few reasons for this choice, perhaps I should elaborate. I love the design, simple, timeless, well balanced. The sponsor logo, well firstly SKINT is Fatboy Slims record label so that's credibility right there, but also that font style used in the logo is a delight.


On the back the shirt retains some stripes, which is a good thing, and there is a wonderful shadow pattern depicting the crests of the towns that make up the City of Brighton and Hove. This is a matchworn shirt by long term player, Kerry Mayo, who made over 400 appearances for the Seagulls in his distinguished career between 1995-2009. You might notice it's been dedicated to my wife, who was a huge fan of the Ginger Prince.


I think it looks even better with short sleeves.

bottom of page